Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Magic the Gathering rules

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #31
    Thanks.

    Now, since Lotus Vale does not come into play, thus, under the player's control, until the full cost has been paid, so would it not make more sense that the lands still need to be put into the graveyard as part of the cost?

    If this land destuction is an effect intead, then I'd it gets nullifed by Celestial Dawn.
    (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
    (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan
    (")_(") "Starting the fire from within."

    Comment


    • #32
      What happens if Ageless Sentinels blocks Battering Ram?
      Everything changes, but nothing is truly lost.

      Comment


      • #33
        When it's still a Wall, it'd be destroyed.
        (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
        (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan
        (")_(") "Starting the fire from within."

        Comment


        • #34
          Originally posted by Urban Ranger
          Now, since Lotus Vale does not come into play, thus, under the player's control, until the full cost has been paid, so would it not make more sense that the lands still need to be put into the graveyard as part of the cost?
          It seems that Lotus Vale is never brought into play -- essentially what happens is that a Plains is brought into play, and that Plains is then enchanted to behave like a Lotus Vale when Celestial Dawn is destroyed. (It's actually that the enchantment causing it to be a Plains is destroyed, but same difference. If there were an enchantment that required that a cost be paid or that a benefit be granted whenever a Swamp is brought into play, then this enchantment wouldn't be triggered if I were to play Evil Influence (did I get that card right?) on a land, causing it to turn into a Swamp -- the land is already in play, so the Swamp is not actually being brought into play.)
          <p style="font-size:1024px">HTML is disabled in signatures </p>

          Comment


          • #35
            Originally posted by loinburger
            It seems that Lotus Vale is never brought into play -- essentially what happens is that a Plains is brought into play, and that Plains is then enchanted to behave like a Lotus Vale when Celestial Dawn is destroyed. (It's actually that the enchantment causing it to be a Plains is destroyed, but same difference. If there were an enchantment that required that a cost be paid or that a benefit be granted whenever a Swamp is brought into play, then this enchantment wouldn't be triggered if I were to play Evil Influence (did I get that card right?) on a land, causing it to turn into a Swamp -- the land is already in play, so the Swamp is not actually being brought into play.)
            I believe that the Lotus Vale was brought into play, but was immediately changed into something else by a continuous effect. When this effect vanishes, it reverts back to the former form.
            (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
            (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan
            (")_(") "Starting the fire from within."

            Comment


            • #36
              Originally posted by Urban Ranger
              When it's still a Wall, it'd be destroyed.
              So if it blocks when it's a Wall, the ability doesn't turn it into a Giant Bird before Battering Ram's ability destroys it? OK.
              Everything changes, but nothing is truly lost.

              Comment


              • #37
                I believe that the Lotus Vale was brought into play, but was immediately changed into something else by a continuous effect. When this effect vanishes, it reverts back to the former form.
                For example, look at a spell, Goblin Grenade, that forces you to sacrifice a creature when cast. Even if you counter the spell, you still need to sacrifice the creature. Same principle applies to the Lotus Vale.
                Scouse Git (2) La Fayette Adam Smith Solomwi and Loinburger will not be forgotten.
                "Remember the night we broke the windows in this old house? This is what I wished for..."
                2015 APOLYTON FANTASY FOOTBALL CHAMPION!

                Comment


                • #38
                  Originally posted by Mr. President
                  So if it blocks when it's a Wall, the ability doesn't turn it into a Giant Bird before Battering Ram's ability destroys it? OK.
                  I don't think so. Battering Ram destroys any Wall that blocks or is blocked by it. Ageless Sentinel might become a Giant Bird at end of turn, but that does not prevent the resolution of an effect.
                  (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
                  (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan
                  (")_(") "Starting the fire from within."

                  Comment


                  • #39
                    Ok, new one. You put Pariah on one of your own creatures. A wall for example, or some chinky protection-from-colour card, or a regenerator. Now all the damage that you are dealt is redirected to the creature. I'll quote the card for clarity.
                    All damage that would be dealt to you is dealt to enchanted creature instead
                    Then, for the sake of argument, possibly because you're stupid, or because you deliberately want a paradox, you place Treacherous Link on the same creature.
                    All damage that would be dealt to enchanted creature is dealt to its controller instead
                    Now either all damage intended for you goes to the creature, and all damage intended for the creature goes to you; or it becomes an infinite loop, and the spells never resolve.

                    Concrete, Abstract, or Squoingy?
                    "I don't believe in giving scripting languages because the only additional power they give users is the power to create bugs." - Mike Breitkreutz, Firaxis

                    Comment


                    • #40
                      Good one.
                      (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
                      (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan
                      (")_(") "Starting the fire from within."

                      Comment


                      • #41


                        d'oh! They cancel each other out.

                        And rather disappointingly, this question has arisen many many times before on the forums.
                        Concrete, Abstract, or Squoingy?
                        "I don't believe in giving scripting languages because the only additional power they give users is the power to create bugs." - Mike Breitkreutz, Firaxis

                        Comment


                        • #42
                          Too bad, infinite loop would be much more interesting.
                          (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
                          (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan
                          (")_(") "Starting the fire from within."

                          Comment


                          • #43
                            Wouldn't the player simply get to choose how much damage goes to Pariah and how much to himself?
                            Scouse Git (2) La Fayette Adam Smith Solomwi and Loinburger will not be forgotten.
                            "Remember the night we broke the windows in this old house? This is what I wished for..."
                            2015 APOLYTON FANTASY FOOTBALL CHAMPION!

                            Comment


                            • #44
                              Apperantly not. Looks like the ruling is both effects activate once and exactly once.
                              (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
                              (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan
                              (")_(") "Starting the fire from within."

                              Comment


                              • #45
                                What's "fading?"

                                What's "ocT?"

                                Belbe’s Armor
                                3, Artifact, Nemesis Uncommon
                                X, ocT: Target creature gets -X/+X until end of turn.
                                Edit: nevermind what "ocT" is. Just some messed up code on the website. Pah.
                                Last edited by Urban Ranger; June 2, 2003, 04:26.
                                (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
                                (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan
                                (")_(") "Starting the fire from within."

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X