Yes, Civ 6 is good.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yes, Civ 6 is good.

I wasn't born with enough middle fingers.
    [Brandon Roderick? You mean Brock's Toadie?][Hanged from Yggdrasil]

To us, it is the BEAST.

Comment

Good to hear.
      I drank beer. I like beer. I still like beer. ... Do you like beer Senator?
      - Justice Brett Kavanaugh

Comment

But is it really thaaat good?
        Blah

Comment

Civ 6 is just like After Earth. It's a refined visual and audio experience (if you can handle the music) that tries to make you feel good that you are playing it. Snazzy UI effects... it's lipstick on a pig. The late game gets bogged down by trade unit and spy management... as well as long turn times.

This isn't a deeply flawed game at it's core. There aren't major design flaws. Most complaints I will probably address with my own custom mods. Modding is a serious strength of this game that shouldn't be ignored. Everything I complain about seems fixable... even for me.

If I were to rate this game as a competitive MP experience... an MP game... I'd give it high marks. It is streamlined and simplified. It's balanced... at the expense of logic and reality.

The single player experience is better than Civ 5. So if you liked/loved Civ 5, you'll probably enjoy this.

I would only recommend you buy this game if you absolutely love the **** out of Civ 5 and everything it is about. I mean... seriously love. If you've got hundreds or over a thousand hours playing Civ 5, buy this.

Everyone else, I say wait for the DLC's. They probably held back content from release anyhow just to make a few extra bucks. Not faulting that sort of practice. Just give me the game I want. I'll pay you when you do that.

I think that's my new gaming philosophy.