Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need book advise (non-fictional, politics mostly)...!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need book advise (non-fictional, politics mostly)...!

Hi

Hopefully this thread doesn't get deleted, too

Interested in recent history and politics, I've been reading some stuff lately. It's easy to get recommendations on lefty literature, but that's always the same, and it doesn't help building a picture of the whole thing (talking most recent and current developments, mostly). So I thought I might have a look into some (mostly American) stuff that'd be considered more to the right or at least less anti-US then the crap you're advised to read in Europe. Following a list of books that I've put on a list, some of them might not fit in at all. Which of those, do you think, are most essential for a recent politics newbie?

Keep in mind I'm just a graduate student, so my budget is limited.

Blowback: The Costs and Consequences of American Empire
    Chalmers A. Johnson (EUR 13,64)

Dreaming War
    Gore Vidal (EUR 10,87)

The End of the American Era: U.S. Foreign Policy and the Geopolitics of the Twenty-First Century
    Charles Kupchan (EUR 25,41)

Diplomacy.
    Henry A. Kissinger (EUR 20,01)

The Rise and Fall of the Great Powers
    Paul Kennedy (EUR 15,46)

- this one doesn't seem too recent in field of discourse, though, might be interesting, though...

Does America Need a Foreign Policy? Towards a New Diplomacy for the 21st Century.
    Henry Kissinger (EUR 13,41)

The Grand Chessboard: American Primacy and Its Geostrategic Imperatives
    Zbigniew K. Brzezinski (EUR 15,91)

- even Mr Todd recommended this one

Paradise and Power: America Versus Europe in the Twenty-first Century
    Robert Kagan (EUR 14,92)

It basically adds up to who is the best right winger

Total sum of the above; €129+, slightly above what I have in mind for an average amazon purchase

Those are your definition of right wing books?

Comment