Salonika

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salonika

Got PTW a week ago, and i just started playing my first game.

To my delight i started on the same isolated continent as the Ottomans.

Needless to say, the outcome was full scale genocidal war. All was good untill my crusade reached a Muslim city named Salonika.

WHAT THE HELL!!
    Thesalonica is my home city!!.
    I'd better die, than see it in the hands of the Turks.

The point is that Civ3 has many "dual" cities. The Greeks have Thessalonica in their city list as well. The cities should be owned by the civs who found them(and dwelled in them), not by those that they TEMPORARILY conquered them. With this in mind the Greek civ should, according to fireaxis logic, have as cities Samarkand and Persepolis.

ABOUT THE PATCH: I downloaded the american patch from civ3.com and the Euro patch from a german site. I installed the American one and the game did not recognize the CD.
    I then uninstall the American and install the German. An error message occured every time i started the game. I then unistall the German patch and start the game. The game begins and it indicates that i have version 1.14f

How can that be? Fireaxis, infogrames or whoever have totaly fuc*ed it up.
    "Military training has three purposes: 1)To save ourselves from becoming subjects to others, 2)to win for our own city a possition of leadership, exercised for the benefit of others and 3)to exercise the rule of a master over those who deserve to be treated as slaves."-Aristotle, The Politics, Book VII

All those who want to die, follow me!
    Last words of Emperor Constantine XII Palaiologos, before charging the Turkish hordes, on the 29th of May 1453AD.

You are pathetic.

Comment

Why did you install both patches? It seems more like you have "fuc*ed up"...

I guess you also see that if several civs have the same city(that is, with the exactly same name), that would make the game messy.