Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Oh, so close (the return of the poker thread)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oh, so close (the return of the poker thread)

I started playing PokerRoom again a couple days ago. Tonight, I entered the 30+3 $50,000 guaranteed tournament.

From about the 1.5 hour mark to about the 4 hour mark, I was the chip leader. I was just brutalizing people, well on my way to the $12,000 top prize.

Then, when there were about 60 players left (out of 770), I suffered my first major defeat. I got the #4 chip guy to go all in against me; I had pocket 8s with 4, 4, 6 on the board. He had pocket 10s. As a result, my chips were cut by about 2/3, and it was downhill from there.

I managed to hold out until 30th place, when I went all in pre-flop with A-10 suited, and ran into A-J. Won a solid $275. But, dizzamn, I was oh so ****ing close to getting some serious money...
    "My nation is the world, and my religion is to do good." --Thomas Paine
    "The subject of onanism is inexhaustable." --Sigmund Freud

Congrats on the $275!

Unless, of course, you paid $500 to enter.

Comment

Since I started playing again, I'm up about $400 overall.

No, only $33.

Ahhh, memories...
      Attached Files

Comment

Didn't even see KH's poker thread... oops.

Comment

Suckah.

good going though. can't stand rebuys, personally
          12-17-10 Mohamed Bouazizi NEVER FORGET
          Stadtluft Macht Frei
          Killing it is the new killing it
          Ultima Ratio Regum

Comment

don't play the guaranteeds for that reason.
            Stadtluft Macht Frei
            Ultima Ratio Regum

Comment

I'm not a fan of rebuys, either. But I was doing so well in the $50 sit and gos, I figured it was worth the lark. Turned out it was, and was almost ridiculously worth it.

Comment

I'm slumming it in the 20$ SNGs

It's almost ridiculously easy. Plus my bankroll is only at 400$ right now (withdrew money not too long ago)