Democracy: Success or Failure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Democracy: Success or Failure

An area on which I am undecided. I know democracy to have major problems yet it seems to be the best system available at the moment (though a technocracy sounds cool). Its also done a lot for us. So on balance? I say a bit of both. Discuss!!!
    Success
    50.00%
    Failure
    15.38%
    A bit of both
    26.92%
    Power to the phallic fruit!
    7.69%
    "I work in IT so I'd be buggered without a computer" - Words of wisdom from Provost Harrison
    "You can be wrong AND jewish" - Wiglaf :love:

Damn.. thats supposed to be success or failure. Thought I'd insult your intelligences by pointing that out....
    "I work in IT so I'd be buggered without a computer" - Words of wisdom from Provost Harrison
    "You can be wrong AND jewish" - Wiglaf :love:

Comment

'democracy is the worst form of government...except for all the others' - winston churchill

and as for success, well look at democratic countries and then look at those which aren't...
      "The Christian way has not been tried and found wanting, it has been found to be hard and left untried" - GK Chesterton.

"The most obvious predicition about the future is that it will be mostly like the past" - Alain de Botton

Comment

exactly what is a technocracy? I fail to see how radically different that goverment would be.

Comment

I think democracy is the best form of goverment.

but it slowly degrades as the citizens stop paying attention to their goverment and become ignorant of the world they live in. They trust the goverment to handle all of their problems for them. Eventually this would lead to trouble, you would think.

Comment

The Matrix is a technocracy.
            "Our words are backed with NUCLEAR WEAPONS!"​​

Comment

Wait about 50 years, and we will know the answer.

Comment

A bit of both