Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do you believe in something enough to send others to die for it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you believe in something enough to send others to die for it?

As many know, I'm a pacifist and a libertarian. However, would I send other to die, or make others die for it? (Ignoring the pacifist clause that dictates the answer) Of course not!!

I'm hardly what you might describe as pragmatic, so others may differ.

Discuss
    "I work in IT so I'd be buggered without a computer" - Words of wisdom from Provost Harrison
    "You can be wrong AND jewish" - Wiglaf :love:

For there is [another] kind of violence, slower but just as deadly, destructive as the shot or the bomb in the night. This is the violence of institutions -- indifference, inaction, and decay. This is the violence that afflicts the poor, that poisons relations between men because their skin has different colors. - Bobby Kennedy (Mindless Menance of Violence)

Comment

So, if there's a house burning, you don't believe that firemen should try to rescue the people in there?
      "Spirit merges with matter to sanctify the universe. Matter transcends to return to spirit. The interchangeability of matter and spirit means the starlit magic of the outermost life of our universe becomes the soul-light magic of the innermost life of our self." - Dennis Kucinich, candidate for the U. S. presidency
      "That’s the future of the Democratic Party: providing Republicans with a number of cute (but not that bright) comfort women." - Adam Yoshida, Canada's gift to the world

Comment

Also like saying a policeman can't do his job because it is dangerous.