Hello and game question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello and game question

Hello. I am new to Apolyton, but I have read and written on other forums.

I wish to ask if anyone here knows of any turn-based, multiplayer role-playing games. I and my friend have been wanting to play such a game for some time, and I really dislike action/real-time games.

Could anyone suggest a game such as this (preferably cooperative play)?

Thanks in advance,
    Etherlark

Is it even possible for a turn-based MMORPG?

Comment

Originally posted by Lord Nuclear
      Is it even possible for a turn-based MMORPG?
      He didn't say anything about a MMORPG, just one with multiplayer.

Comment

Turn based ... role playing game.

Hmmmm ... well, you might call Heroes of Might and Magic a turn based rpg ... I think it has turn-based elements to it anyway, been a loooong time. Also has non-rpg elements to it.

Not sure how you would do a turn-based RPG though (in the sense that Civ is turn-based), unless you meant turn-based as in a Roguelike, where you move then the monsters move etc., just a 'slow' rpg. Might and Magic in most of its versions pre-MM6 was turnbased in that sense; but also not MP.

I think there are some roguelike that were set up as multiplayer, but I never played any of them; probably one of the angband variants, for example.

Googled: Multiplayer Angband Mostly turn based, although turns pass without action by the player. Actually fairly MMORPG from what i can tell, as in it seems to have possibility of many players. Calls itself "realtime" but that just means turn-based while turns pass without your interaction.

I think some-but-not-all of the D&D games (baldur's gate, ie) were turn-based or sort-of-turn-based in this same way, ie you have a turn period to act in but turns pass without you acting. Can't tell you which though, it's been a long time ... but BG might have been, sort of at least, and might have had some multiplayer ability ...