Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Professional Ethics

So, I've got a dilemma.

I finished a Masters in computational fluid dynamics not so recently. Nearly all of the real work was done (i.e. the defense) a year ago. I was originally planning on getting the PhD, but I couldn't work out the motivation for studying pattern formation in the Earth's mantle. I don't give a **** about what the mantle does, fundamentally. I couldn't make an academic career out of this. And I realized that I do give a **** about what people do, so I decided to switch fields. I would get my Masters, work for a year saving up money, and get the PhD in the new field.

I made this decision in the Fall of 2008, right before the bottom dropped out in the economy. I made a number of mistakes in grad school, but the biggest one is that I avoided internships when industry was giving them out like candy, because supposedly I wanted to be an academic. And the field my degree is associated with (Geophysics) implies a set of skills (tomography) that I don't have any research experience in, and doesn't imply the set of skills that I do (fluid dynamics, pattern formation in nonlinear systems); also because of academia - faculty in a physics dept would be a lot harder to get than geophysics. Finding a job was a lot more difficult than I expected it to be.

I've been tutoring and part time teaching to survive. Finances have deteriorated quite a bit. Borrowed some money from the sister. My car engine died, then I wasted money on a lemon after that, so I could really use a new one (given that I live in Houston). I need to see a dentist badly, etc.