No announcement yet.

Would You Quit Over This? (work advice)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would You Quit Over This? (work advice)

I work in a bank. The pay is moderate and work conditions are typical, not bad,
    but I'm underworked and I need change. Two months ago I decided to try to find
    a different position within the bank. I found one, interviewed for it, got accepted.
    Same pay, similar job, but enough of a change to make it interesting.

I asked my superiors for a short "quitting term" (can't remember how it's said in
    English). They consulted amongst themselves and decided that 15 days is OK.
    I agreed. Two days before those 15 days expired, they inform me that they've
    changed their mind and decided to not let me go until they find a replacement.

I'm furious.

Here are my options:

1. Stay with them until they see fitting to let me go
    2. Quit and do a 30 day "quitting period" mandated by labor law
    3. Quit using the "extraordinary circumstances" clause in the law which allows
    me to not have to work a single day more, but I need to justify my reasons in
    writing and they can theoretically take it to court (as far as I can Google, it
    never happened).

Our deal was oral (ahem) and not in writing, but it's still a deal. I consider
    such unilateral breaking of a deal an act of bad faith and a good enough
    reason to stop working there ASAP. However...

1. If I quit, internal bank regulations may prevent me from getting that other
    position because there is a ban on new employment in the company at the moment
    2. I don't have a backup job, I'd be unemployed
    3. We're in the middle of an economic crisis and Croatia is hit relatively hard

I go to great lengths to be correct to people so I take this behavior by my
    employer very personally. I have already put on war paint and I'm ready to
    go fight them on the beaches and in the hills and until the bitter end... but