Are baby boomers just plain stupid?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are baby boomers just plain stupid?

I don't mean your average, run-of-the-mill baby boomer. Obviously they're retarded. I mean those who have significant educations:

“They gave me no help. Nothing. Just ‘Have a nice day,” said Joanne, 51, who asked that we use only her first name. “It was a horrible way to treat people. It was unbelievable.”

Joanne said she suspected her job as a technology consultant was at risk when she was asked to train someone else to do the work who was “half my age, with half my qualifications. The clients will suffer, but that’s not my problem.”

Barred by a non-compete agreement from contacting former clients and unable to sell or rent her condo, Joanne has been looking for part-time assignments to replace her $60,000-a-year salary.

“I know people who went for those interest-only loans. I know better. I have an MBA in finance,” said Joanne. “I actually went way under my head on buying something. It’s very, very upsetting. ... I’ve lost almost my life savings. And how was I supposed to know that? That part is probably the hardest.”

Am I really supposed to feel bad for this dolt?

a) She's a CONSULTANT who signed a ****ing non-compete. Really? How ****ing dumb do you have to be? Consultants who agree to non-competes had better be making enough money GUARANTEED that they can switch careers or simply retire.

b) She's making 60000 dollars a year at 51 years of age with an MBA in finance?

c) Interest-only loans are, if you have a good rate, a GREAT idea. Has this ****ing nincompoop never heard of the primary residence interest income tax deduction? Why the hell would you PAY DOWN a loan which is effectively at 3-4% after taxes are factored in?