Anyone ever done a triathlon before?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone ever done a triathlon before?

One of my friends is doing a triathlon in September, and she wants me to do it with her. The event consists of a 1.5K swim, a 58K bike ride, and a 10K run.

I am in decent shape. I try to weightlift and jog right now. I bought a bike on Monday, and I've been biking as soon as I wake up. I'm not a very good swimmer, but I do have a pool at my apartment.

So have any of you ever done a triathlon before? If so do you have any training tips? Tell me about your triathlon experiences. Also could you please share your training regimen? Thanks guys!

I've never done a triathlon before, but from personal experience and from my cousin (who used to do triathlons) the bike ride is going to be the worst part. A 1.5k swim is not that far, and if you're a runner, the 10k is not too different. The bike ride is real ****ing hard in terms of muscular endurance if you're not an experienced bike rider.
    12-17-10 Mohamed Bouazizi NEVER FORGET
    Stadtluft Macht Frei
    Killing it is the new killing it
    Ultima Ratio Regum

Comment

I'll disagree with Krazy a bit here. I trained for a triathlon from a starting point of being a decent/good biker, ok runner and a poor swimmer. I ended up not doing the tri due to an unrelated hockey injury to my back (sidelined me for months) and haven't gotten back to it due to my young chilren.

My tips

1. Concentrate on the swim. If you come out of the water completely exhausted, your biking and running skills and training go out the window You must learn to be an efficient swimmer.