No announcement yet.

Elitism against people who smoke/drink?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Elitism against people who smoke/drink?

Sometimes I ask myself what happened to people. Teenagers are supposed to be crazy and stupid, doing things like experimenting with drugs and sex. I know this is a pointless and funny cliche, but it's true. I've smoked some weed, and I party on the weekends where people drink.

And thus I never really fit into the whole "I'm an upper bound student, blah blah". I was in pretty much all the AP and honors classes and managed to make it to UCLA because of my crazy Asian parents... but really, all of my friends are essentially in the 'regular' classes and are going to state schools.

Why? The "AP" kids look down on me. It's obvious that I drink and party, and they hate me for it. The Asians say that I'm not acting Asain.. *** is that supposed to mean? The other people say I'm wasting my life... I'm not, I'm having fun, I'm actually enjoying life instead of sitting at home on the weekends playing video games or studying for the SATs or something.

The new college generation that I see has come off as some socially-repressive elitist bunch. In my school, about 25 people got into UCLA. How many of them, besides me, admit that they like to drink and party? 1 other. An under represented minority, too.

What happened to having fun? Enjoying life? I'm not saying you have to do drugs or drink or party to enjoy life, but you know what I mean. Life's more than sitting at home studying or playing video games.

Here are some of the things I've heard:

"I will never drink or smoke, only complete idiots do that."
    "Jade doesn't deserve to go to UCLA, she's a druggie."
    "I want a 2 room dorm because I don't want to run the risk of getting more than 1 dumbass in my room."
    "I only want to room with people from my school just to be safe."
    "People who party never get any work done, so I'm not going to party at all."