Judge for yourself

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Judge for yourself

Here's a link to the chapter on Islamic history in the 11th class textbook by the NCERT, which was recently re-toxified by the historians of the JNU.

Link (PDF)

I'd like people here to read it, and tell me if they think its portrayal of Islamic history is unbiased.

( Here's the link to the central page: Link

Go to "Class XI"->"History"->"Themes in World History".)

I've read parts of it and haven't seen anything that strikes me as particularly unfair or wrong. I'm no expert on Islamic history. I read parts of the Roman Empire section and that was fine too... this is like a high school level text, so it obviously isn't terribly detailed.

Is there something in particular you find objectionable?

What happened to demonstrating the pervasive anti-Brahmin bias in the textbooks? Instead you're after the Muslims again...

-Arrian
    grog want tank...Grog Want Tank... GROG WANT TANK!

The trick isn't to break some eggs to make an omelette, it's convincing the eggs to break themselves in order to aspire to omelettehood.

Comment

My guess is that it's biased if it doesn't depict Mohamad as a bloodthirsty paedophile.
      In Soviet Russia, Fake borises YOU.

Comment

I never said it was biased. I'm just looking for opinions on whether or not people think it was biased.

Comment

Originally posted by aneeshm
          recently re-toxified by the historians of the JNU.
          I never said it was biased.
          THEY!!111 OMG WTF LOL LET DA NOMADS AND TEH S3D3NTARY PEOPLA BOTH MAEK BITER AXP3REINCES
          AND TEH GRAAT SINS OF THERE [DOCTRINAL] INOVATIONS BQU3ATH3D SMAL
          AND!!1!11!!! LOL JUST IN CAES A DISPUTANT CALS U 2 DISPUT3 ABOUT THEYRE CLAMES
          DO NOT THAN DISPUT3 ON THEM 3XCAPT BY WAY OF AN 3XTARNAL DISPUTA!!!!11!! WTF

Comment