Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Animatrix

Sucks beyond all comprehension.

As a writer, I'd hate it if the ideas on my plots were being taken and expanded, elaborated upon by lesser minds, and presented, purporting to be a legitimate expansion upon the idea. Even if the writers of the trilogy agreed and wrote this stuff, such an idea as the Matrix is far better left to the imagination of the viewer. IMO, animatrix is a cynical attempt to profit off the success of the trilogy, hijacking the idea and vandalising it.

Now don't get me wrong, I have no problem with others standing on the shoulders of giants, indeed I would be flattered if in the future someone were to do so with my ideas, as long as they are not riding piggyback. In such a case I would tell someone to expand their ideas upon an analogous plot, instead of being a parasite to the original.

Perhaps I'm being a little harsh. I refer especially to those that attempt to add to the plot, particularly that one that was like the Matrix prequel. It'd be like George Lucas doing a film on the beginning of the Borg!

The latest animatrix was reasonable, the idea was that a girl lost her cat, and when searching for it stumbled on some kids exploiting what seemed to be a discrepancy in the matrix, time and gravity slowing down. I especially liked the bit with the dove flying in slow-mo, then the ravens appearing on the skyline. An agent with what looked like a pest control team cleared the area, and you see some computer stuff eliminating the error, the girl going back to the "haunted house" minus the cool stuff. Was nicely done, merely explored the existing plot without mutilating it, which is acceptable imo.

Discuss!
    "I work in IT so I'd be buggered without a computer" - Words of wisdom from Provost Harrison
    "You can be wrong AND jewish" - Wiglaf :love:

i thought the animatrix stuff was done by the same people that did the matrix? or at least, was done with their blessing anyway . . .