What is a sociopath/psychopath?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is a sociopath/psychopath?

And what is the difference? How does one make a (self?)diagnosis?

Also, what does it mean when one is "psychotic"?
    "I work in IT so I'd be buggered without a computer" - Words of wisdom from Provost Harrison
    "You can be wrong AND jewish" - Wiglaf :love:

Psychotic: I'm pretty sure that just refers to delusions, hallucination, paranoia, and other signs of severe separation from reality.
    Sociopath is just a general term for a crazy punk who hurts or cheats people for fun and feels no remorse. More specifically, it could refer to people with antisocial personality disorder, i.e. people who naturally assume, for no rational reason, that the laws and conventions which govern social behavior do not apply to them, and can be broken at will. Basically Nietzsche's superman, only not as pretentious about it.
    1011 1100
    Pyrebound--a free online serial fantasy novel

Comment

I think the difference (not a doctor, so this is how I understand it) is that a sociopath clearly knows they are doing wrong, but they have no regard for any of the limits or rules of society: in short, they don't care that they are doing wrong. Psycopaths are not in full control of their cognative abilities, so their handle on right and wrong is not 100%.

I would be more warry of a sociopath than a psychopath.
      If you don't like reality, change it! me
      "Oh no! I am bested!" Drake
      "it is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong" Voltaire
      "Patriotism is a pernecious, psychopathic form of idiocy" George Bernard Shaw

Comment

Originally posted by Elok
        Basically Nietzsche's superman, only not as pretentious about it.
        Immense distorsion of the mans work!

And the correct translation (or at least the best one) is overman..as in beyond 'man', not just a souped up model.

Comment

What is a sociopath/psychopath?