Not Impressed So Far

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not Impressed So Far

I've spent the afternoon messing around with Civ5 and so far I must confess that my opinion is negative. I am a Civ player since my Amiga days, so I have some experience. I also liked Civ4 quite a bit.

I do like the hexes, and I like the stacking limit (though 1 per hex is too restrictive, which should have come out in playtesting).

I'm fine with city states and I don't mind the lack of religion, per se.

However, so far my opinions on everything else seem to be veering towards the negative.

I do not like the graphics at all, from the palette to the fact that details are too small (this includes the bizarre decision to make units a bunch of tiny men). Civ4 had a much more lush range of colors and I like the graphics on it better, which is a little odd.

There's a lot of gratuitous crap that just slows down the game (like the graphic that announces each turn).

It is odd that there are no new terrain types to speak of.

The interface seems pretty clunky and many of the smart aspects of Civ4 seem to have been abandoned. I can't even get a list of opposing civilizations to stay on the screen? There's no clock/alarm? Why the obsession on pop up windows (units, terrain, etc.)? Civ4 could provide the same info in a much less intrusive way (and less resource intensive).

The game options seem extremely limited; there's lots of stuff I don't want but can't turn off and so apparently will have to put up with it. I can't even figure how to turn the opening movie off (surely this can be done???).

Lots of things seem needlessly dumbed down in Civ5, but I don't see any compensations elsewhere.

I sure didn't expect I'd be saying this, but so far I prefer Civ4 to Civ5.

Originally posted by egavactip View Post
    I can't even figure how to turn the opening movie off (surely this can be done???).

If anyone has figured this out, please enlighten us.

Comment