why am i such a turkey?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• why am i such a turkey?

I have been playing conquests and civ III for several months now, exclusively at Monarch Level and generally (but not always) get creamed. I always am the French and play an aggressive game, particularly in the early game. I play on a normaL world with moderate-sized
    continents.

Can anyone provide me with some basic strategms which confirm/disagree/add to the following techniques I use?

1. Build barracks and produce a few spearmen but concentrate on warriors (for later conversion to swordsmen)
    2. Build 4 cities (including capital) and then go to war and capture the rest
    3. When unrest becomes a hassle, build temples (generally one city at a time)
    4. Can't get those wonders unless I get lucky and get a leader so I don't even try.
    5. Use first leader to build Forbidden Palace at strategic location -- generally 2 or more cities removed from capital -- surrounded by other cities. If no leader available, build in a city with decent production
    6.I got more to say but no room...u get the idea)

2. Build 4 cities (including capital) and then go to war and capture the rest
    I've always tried to build as many cities as possible until I reach the borders of the other civs in the game. Then I go to war to capture more. With only 4 cities it would be difficult to have the production base to build enough units to go on the offensive. Of course you need to keep a defensive force guarding your outer ring cities during you expansion phase in case you run into an aggressive civ or a horde of barbarians.

4. Can't get those wonders unless I get lucky and get a leader so I don't even try.