Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Info: Settlers/Engineers (GL)

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • SandMonkey
    replied
    Originally posted by GabrielGL View Post
    I don't understand what you mean by this statement in section 1.2

    (Regular military units apparently just rob whatever homesteads they pass of their food.)
    I think this is just a joke to explain why you have to "feed" (support with food) engies/settlers but not the rest of your army. The saying is "Armies march on their stomachs". Apparently not in CivII!

    Leave a comment:


  • GabrielGL
    replied
    I don't understand what you mean by this statement in section 1.2

    (Regular military units apparently just rob whatever homesteads they pass of their food.)

    Sorry if I'm being obtuse

    Thanks to SlowThinker for the page 2 (#54) file link!

    The collection and maintenance of this information is a great service and much appreciated. THANKS!!!
    Last edited by GabrielGL; July 25, 2009, 01:18. Reason: detail clarification

    Leave a comment:


  • rjmatsleepers
    replied
    Originally posted by Elephant
    I don't have the link with me, but someone else (Xin Yu?) discovered that the first worker "passes" his work points on to the second worker. If you then "deactivate" (get the work order off the shield by clicking once after the work has been passed) the first worker and activate a third worker, the second worker will pass the two accumulated work points on to the third. Stacks of 5 or 10 workers can do jobs in one or two turns in this manner.
    I never cease to be amazed by the inginuity shown by the experts in this game. I'm not sure whether I'll ever have an opportunity to use this trick, but its worth knowing.

    RJM at Sleeper's

    Leave a comment:


  • Elephant
    replied
    I don't have the link with me, but someone else (Xin Yu?) discovered that the first worker "passes" his work points on to the second worker. If you then "deactivate" (get the work order off the shield by clicking once after the work has been passed) the first worker and activate a third worker, the second worker will pass the two accumulated work points on to the third. Stacks of 5 or 10 workers can do jobs in one or two turns in this manner.

    Leave a comment:


  • AGRICOLA
    replied
    There is an error in Gastrifitis' otherwise excellent treatise on Settlers and Engineers. The following is incorrect

    Originally posted by Gastrifitis

    4.2. Using several workers on the same task

    If you send three Engineers to the same square, tell them to Transform, and just leave them to it, the third Engineer’s efforts will be wasted. The project will not be completed any faster than it would have if only two Engineers were working the square. The game just doesn’t work that way.

    Originally posted by Agricola

    TABLE II summarizes the number of turns required by 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 Engineers to irrigate, mine or transform each type of terrain. For example, the number sequence 20,10,8,7,8 indicates that it will take 1 Engineer 20 turns, 2 Engineers 10 turns, 3 Engineers 8 turns, 4 Engineers 7 turns and 5 Engineers 8 turns to complete the task. The fact that 4 Engineers require less time than 5 is not a misprint.
    Code:
     TABLE II
    ------------ IRRIGATE ---- MINE ----- TRANSFORM
    Desert-----/ 3,2,2,2,2 / 3,2,2,2,2 / 10,5,4,4,4 
    Forest-----/ 3,2,2,2,2 / xxxxxxxxx / 20,10,8,7,8 
    Glacier----/ xxxxxxxxx / 8,4,4,3,3 / 20,10,8,7,8 
    Grassland—-/ 3,2,2,2,2 / 5,3,3,2,3 / 10,5,4,4,4
    Hills------/ 5,3,3,2,3 / 5,3,3,2,3 / 10,5,4,4,4 
    Jungle-----/ 8,4,4,3,3 / 8,4,4,4,3 / 10,5,4,4,4 
    Mountains—-/ xxxxxxxxx / 5,3,3,2,3 / 30,15,11,11,11 
    Plains-----/ 3,2,2,2,2 / 8,4,4,3,3 / 10,5,4,4,4
    Swamp------/ 8,4,4,3,3 / 8,4,4,3,3 / 20,10,8,7,8 
    Tundra-----/ 5,3,3,2,3 / xxxxxxxxx / 10,5,4,4,4
    I am surprised by some of the irregularities in the results and by how little the use of more than 2 Engineers actually speeds up the work in most situations. Players may want to consider carefully whether it is worthwhile assigning extra Engineers to speed up the completion of a task by a turn or two.
    The preceding quote is from
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=90129

    Leave a comment:


  • SlowThinker
    replied
    Originally posted by Elephant
    Sounds like changing the NO to YES in RULES.TXT would allow Set/Eng to do it themselves.
    I think so.

    Leave a comment:


  • Elephant
    replied
    I just recently discovered you can Cheat-Mode irrigate mountains (and farmland, too, I think...). Sounds like changing the NO to YES in RULES.TXT would allow Set/Eng to do it themselves.

    Leave a comment:


  • SlowThinker
    replied
    I would like to point out something about the rules.txt settings:

    Mountains, 3,6, 0,1,0, no, 1,10, 0, yes, 1,10, 6, Hil, ; Mou

    explanation of the row:
    no = no irigation possible
    1,10, 0, = +1 food after Irr., 10 turns to complete, 0 ai-likes-to-irigate

    So on Mountains there is no irrigation possible and still some effect of irrigation?
    The answer is: Settlers and engineers cannot irrigate, but you get an irrigation if you build a city.

    But civilopedia is brief about this, it only says irrigation is possible.

    Leave a comment:


  • SlowThinker
    replied
    I restarted Civ2 FW, reloaded the position - and now, it works normally...
    Maybe it depends on the wheather...

    Leave a comment:


  • La Fayette
    replied
    If Tarsus = Praha and Arbela = Bratislava, then I guess what happened
    ... otherwise: no idea

    Leave a comment:


  • SlowThinker
    replied
    no transfer of work between settlers (??)

    I found a case where the work of individual Settlers working on the same square is not cumulated.
    As everybody knows, the last Settler that performs work on a given square gathers aggregated work/charge of all Settlers that are also on that square.
    But in GOTM #38 it is not true!
    See the attachment. At Persepolis there are two Settlers, one is homed in Tarsus, the second one in Arbela. Tarsus' Settler has 1 pre-charge, Arbela has 0 pre-charge. They usually (not always!) keep their work on this map.
    I tested both FW and MGE, there is no difference.
    It is a FW save.

    If you want to watch the pre-charge easily load the Civ2Admin v. 0.5 (in debug status) - it shows the pre-charge of Settlers. Download is here: http://apolyton.net/forums/showthrea...22#post2783157

    Settings of GOTM #38 are here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showth...threadid=80181
    Attached Files

    Leave a comment:


  • War4ever
    replied
    yes a job well done, i dn't have the patience to go through it all..especially when i know alot of it but can prove algorythms or the theory behind them with numbers.

    well done and keep it up...soon you should be able to program your own game

    Leave a comment:


  • rah
    replied
    You're correct, so I'll stop it here.

    But I do agree with La Fayette, you guys have made some great contributions for us wardogs. Even if we don't use it down to the smallest detail (due to the nature of MP games), the general overall concepts have really helped our games. You all are to be commended.

    Thanks,

    RAH

    Leave a comment:


  • SlowThinker
    replied
    This thread don't deserve spam...

    Leave a comment:


  • rah
    replied

    I would have guess that.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X