This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• my god i must change this game before i get an anurysm

i have to change the rules of this game, if i dont, ill go insane. core game is fine, but the rules are pissin me off big time.

please...someone tell me theres a "for dummies" editor out there...i have no programming knowledge whatsoever, but if i must play these idiotic rules any longer i will surely do something crazy...like uninstall this pile and put civ 3 back on.

im not talking about the world builder...that thing is hopeless. is there some sort of GUI editor for units/buildings/rules, whatnot?

No, you have to edit the files by hand.

What would you want to change exactly?
    Solver, WePlayCiv Co-Administrator
    I can kill you whenever I please... but not today. - The Cigarette Smoking Man

Comment

Yeah, you have to go into the xml files and change the values you want changed, World Builder is more for scenarios and testing and stuff.

If you are really interested in modding the xml files some help can be found at http://www.civ4wiki.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
      Modding takes more time than you would think, you really have to want to complete a mod and have lots of time.

I dunno what stuff you'd want to change though, Civ3 gave me an aneurysm, most of the rules is civ3 were a complete joke, civ4 is much more balanced, you might not see it at first, but civ4 is much more balanced than civ3 could ever dream of, I suggest you give civ4 another shot.

Comment

I'd like to help the original poster, but I've been trained to automatically ignore AOLese. Can I get a translation of the original post into English so I can try to help?

Comment

i guess its not so much balance as gameplay. theres just a whole slew of stuff i want changed and its wayyyyy out of my ability to do it. when i click on an XML file it says it cant open it, so i dunno where i go from there.