Manhattan project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Manhattan project

Hi this is my first time posting here (though i've been here looking for tips on the previous games).

Does anyone else think that its a bit strange that EVERYONE gets nukes from your hard work building the manhattan project?

In civ 3 i used to edit the game so that it was a national wonder. In real life every nation that has nuclear weapons had to do there own research and didn't get nukes overnight just because some other guy got it.

I realise that making it a national wonder in Civ4 might bring about a few problems, like when someone else has the nuke and you can't built bomb shelters (actually are bomb shelters tied to the manhattan project?).

What has always annoyed me about it is that in some games (MP mostly) you could be equal with another nation and you try to get nukes to break the deadlock. You build the manhattan project and nothing changes because then your enemy has nukes aswell.

Yeah in Civ3 I made it a national wonder and renamed it to Nuclear Test.
    THEY!!111 OMG WTF LOL LET DA NOMADS AND TEH S3D3NTARY PEOPLA BOTH MAEK BITER AXP3REINCES
    AND TEH GRAAT SINS OF THERE [DOCTRINAL] INOVATIONS BQU3ATH3D SMAL
    AND!!1!11!!! LOL JUST IN CAES A DISPUTANT CALS U 2 DISPUT3 ABOUT THEYRE CLAMES
    DO NOT THAN DISPUT3 ON THEM 3XCAPT BY WAY OF AN 3XTARNAL DISPUTA!!!!11!! WTF

Comment

Welcome to the posting part of 'Poly.

Personally, I don't find it strange. Once Pandora's Box (nukes) is openend, it's normal that everyone else in town will attempt all sort of ways that can't see the daylight to have the same ability. I think it would even be more of a game breaker NOT to allow it that way.
      He who knows others is wise.
      He who knows himself is enlightened.
      -- Lao Tsu

SMAC(X) Marsscenario

Comment

Very simple explanation. A new weapon is discovered, Bill Clinton sells it to other nations.