Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Problem with Civ2:ToT

  1. #1
    Draupnir
    Settler
    Join Date
    23 Jul 2009
    Posts
    1
    Country
    This is Draupnir's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 24, 2014
    Local Time
    00:55

    Problem with Civ2:ToT

    Hi, I am a huge civ2 fan from back in the day and recently was given the civ collection box set as a present. I have never owned or played civ2: ToT however, so I decided to install it on my netbook the other day using my optical drive from a networked computer to see what its all about. I cannot play using the cd since I dont have a drive, so I just grab a no-cd patch no prob right. I need to patch the game using the official patch to use the no-cd patch and thats where the problem comes in:
    When I go into the patch the wizard loads up and I click next. Then an error message pops up saying "you must have test of time installed in order to install this update" and the program closes. I have tried getting the patch from different places, re-installing the game, changing directory to different locations, etc, and cannot find a solution. I was hoping somebody on this board could give me some advice or a slution to this maddening problem. Here are a couple other things I should mention:
    -I use Win XP 32-bit home w/sp3
    -The game loads up fine but dosent let me get past the cd-check
    -I aslo installed Civ2:MGE and patched it no problem; it works fine.
    -I am installing from the collection disk from another computer
    -I have not copied any sound files from disk two, and shouldnt need to.

    Anyways, any help would be appreciated! Thanks for your time guys!

  2. #2
    Mercator
    Emperor Mercator's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Dec 1969
    Posts
    3,089
    Country
    This is Mercator's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 24, 2014
    Local Time
    06:55
    A bit late now, I see, but for future reference, there's a registry fix for this.

    You can find the fix and some instructions over on CivFanatics:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpo...8&postcount=22

Similar Threads

  1. Civ2 problem
    By Sava in forum Civ2-General/Help-Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 13, 2002, 14:16
  2. Problem with Civ2-Videos
    By Verrucosus in forum Civ2-General/Help-Archive
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 11, 2002, 03:51
  3. Please read, ive got a problem with civ2
    By Drone Riot in forum Civ2-General/Help-Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 3, 2001, 15:26
  4. Ongoing problem since CIV2
    By FrantzX in forum Civ3-General-Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 12, 2000, 08:22
  5. Perplexing Problem with Civ2 Gold
    By troydawg in forum Civilization Series General: Past and Future
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: September 2, 1999, 01:02

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions