Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

It's looking very good, but is it going to be flat?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It's looking very good, but is it going to be flat?

It looks like you're going to be successful with this game no matter what you do at this point. But if I was a game designer and this was the game I had made up to now, then I would step back and say "Right what else does it need?".

And I think I would see that the game might appear flat.

What would Civilization be like, if you couldn't see your opponents face? Flat? Getting boring quickly? Frustrating even?

I am not sure how you have planned to create the leaders, I remember in other similar games, the computer would randomly pick a leader's name for any of the AI players and that would be it.

But if you have specific leaders, like Queen Elizabeth, ruling England, and you could actually see her face (And it doesn't have to animate like Civ3), how would interaction with other civs be affected? Would it suddenly create emotional depthness in the game?

This is just my point of view of course, but if this game is primarily about war, there's no chance in hell I would buy this game. It's not that I don't like war in games, it's just that war is becoming more of a chore than fun. Warcraft 3 for example, when I played it, I realised, yes there's a story, but what is the point of all this raise an army and destroy player x y and z?

I mean come on people, let's get creative with our games for once, I've said this before; Diplomacy, Trade, Resources, City Building and Exploration should all be as important as each other, and that we are not solely doing all of this just to fight a war that has no point to it.
    be free