You CAN control Research, sort of ...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• You CAN control Research, sort of ...

I have noticed a few people frustrated that they can't control the Tech tree.
    I’m just a newbie so this may not be news to anyone who has played the game for any length of time. But it might help beginners like myself.
    If you put 100 percent of your funding into one school for a few turns you force the program to research that school more or less exclusively. However, the designers have chosen to limit your research so that you can’t get too far ahead in one school at the expense of the others, which makes a lot of sense I think.
    Don't forget that the Viceroy will fiddle about with your funding unless you keep an eye on him.
    I have not found a way to control the building of DEA’s on planets.

Research sucks. Let me elaborate:

You can play the whole game, and never actualy check what a tech exactly does. The whole research thing has become totally uninteresting. Even if you bother to read what the techs do, you dont choose to build 95% of them anyway.

I miss that feeling I got when I first researched Plasma Cannon, or Achilles TU....

Comment

To me the Tech Tree in MOO3 is much like the 'Blind Research' Option in Alpha Centuri which I thought was great becasue you no longer could just race for the powerful military techs and trash all your opponents.

I agree with Zan that you can generally direct your research efforts via the slider and this is a touch of authenticity to the concept of research.

But I will also agree that you can go whole games not knowing what specific techs do (this is because the player chooses not to look at them however)

But each tech hypohetically does have an impact on the complex game mechanics.

It is odd that you can't choose what DEA enhancements are built however...but your Viceroys seem to do this OK.