Seriously...is MOO3 for me?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seriously...is MOO3 for me?

I've ben reading the threads here and at a couple other places...read the reviews, and have been online long enough to understand that pissy reviews and gushing fanboy reviews are just extremes of the spectrum; I take everything with a grain of salt.

But I'm new to TB strategy games on the computer (though I've table-top wargamed a bit). I played a great deal of Risk online, and just stumbled onto MOO3 by accident. While reading up on MOO3, I got a bargain-bin copy of MOO2 (two) and have played that for a month now. I enjoy it, but want a) more detail and b) more control.

I'm confused by all the posts of "big picture/no micro management" followed by posts about "overwhelming detail and control".

If I liked "Risk" and am looking for an expanded MOO2, will I be disappointed by MOO3?

Many thanks!

That's a toughy. The hardest part about MoO3 is the learning curve. If you're willing to put in a lot of effort - and I truly do mean this - you'll find it much more detailed and controllable (without going into micromanagement hell) than you did MoO2.

Another game you might like is Europa Universitalis 2 - it's a strategy game where you control a country in Europe and guide it for 300 years. Quite good, IMO, and sort of like a super version of Risk.

Comment

for you, i would say give it a shot. ithink deaddirewolf said it best: this game needs to be actively studied to be truly enjoyed.

If you have the patience, you may be rewarded.