Moo Remake in a different Way

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moo Remake in a different Way

I am a software engineer, although I write business software, I have been playing Masters of Orion, since the first version, along with all of the Civ games. Anyway to my point:

One of my recent projects required a new e-mail driven database front-end to be written, basically the ability for the database to receive e-mails and act on them, and then e-mail reports based on results or other triggers.

This made me think of a game idea, and Masters of Orion popped into my head. Please let me know what you all would think of a game like this.

I would use this new e-mail front-end I wrote and write a Game back-end to it based on the Moo series (Moo2 specifically sine IMHO it was the best). Except instead of a turn based game change the game into a semi-real time game. All game elements would be pushed through e-mail or a web-based control panel. Let’s say a normal turn of Moo2 would take 24 hours, when your race finished a tech, an e-mail would be generated to let you know the new tech, its benefits, and what new techs you can research next. A default selection would be made, and you could reply to the message with the new research topic, or let the system continue on with the default selection. Or you could go out to the website, and login, and be presented with a snap shot of where your empire is at, and you would have the option of changing techs there.

Other examples of how play would work:

When you build a ship, an e-mail is sent with a graphic of all of the options for where it can go. You can then reply to the e-mail and give it a destination. The ship will then head off to that system. When it arrives a new message is sent letting you know what was discovered at the new location. Ship locations, and commands would be available from the web interface as well.