Destroying Missiles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Destroying Missiles

Yes, I'm a newbie, but how do you destroy missiles before they hit you? Is it possible to dodge them? My 360 degree laser point defense doesn't seem to do much.

Wel lit depends on the stage of the game and my tech. Very early if I am using missiles ships, I just fire and retreat all but the dither ships.

Later I tend to just absorb the damage. I may have PD's if I have room left over. If so I will use mass drivers first, then phasors.

To tell you the truth I never really tracked it all that close as it is seldom a factor. Either I can defeat the ship or planet or I cannot.

I may be able to retreat a damaged ship now and then and if they do not have dauntless the missiles are gone.

So a battleship with reinforced hulls and my best armor and shields is usually enough.
    Last edited by vmxa1; July 18, 2004, 00:07.

Comment

There are several things to take into account:

#1: The speed of the missile vs your targeting system

Missiles are harder to hit if they are faster either due to "fast" upgrade or "more advanced" (nuclear -> merculite -> pulson -> zeon)

eg:

nuclear
      merculite
      nuclear +fast
      merculite +fast
      etc

(fast adds 8 speed)

Once your targeting system gets a hit, it then computes how much dmg it will manage to make.

2# So we have the dmg your beam is inflicting vs the missile's ARMOR which comprises of the standard armor (eg titanium, tritanium etc ) + "heavily armored" option.

A titanium+heavily armored needs a dmg of 2 before it's destroyed for example.

Laser point defense is practically useless mainly because it only does 1-2 dmg. So if it DOES hit and does its maximum of "2" (and the autos are hard to hit cos they lose 20% each) it could only destroy very basic unarmored missiles...

And that happens for every missile and every beam it tries to hit them...