Greetings and Bug Reports

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings and Bug Reports

Greetings, Apolytoners. This site has come a long way since I first viewed it as a Civ II junkie. I am a graduate student working at Lehigh University on a project to integrate Call To Power II with the Testbed for Integrating and Evaluating Learning Techniques (TIELT). This project was previously headed by Apolyton member Ushhan Gundevia.

We had been building our own changes on a stale checkout of version 429 of your code until I recently discovered some bugs that caused me to decide we should merge whatever changes the Apolyton code has experienced into our codebase. I have therefore built an unchanged copy of revision 656 and done some additional testing.

I have started two games and each one when the game crashed to the desktop. I haven't been able to debug this yet, but I will attempt to do so and submit my changes if I am able to fix them (and get an svn account). Looking at the log files, both crashes appear to be in ArmyData::BeginTurn(), and both occur during enemy turns. If anyone is interested I can post the save files that will trigger the crash as soon as you end your turn.

In addition to these crashes, I noticed a few other things that I assume are minor bugs. First, I noticed that while the names of some units are in mixed case, some of them such as the longbowman show up as UNIT_LONGBOWMAN or something, looking like a macro name. Second, I disbanded a city by building a settler in a city with population of 1 and did not lose my empire borders. Third, attempting to disband a military unit had no effect.

Hopefully I will be able to get back to you in a day or so with solutions or at least explanations for these problems. Thanks for all the work the community has put into this!

Originally posted by chadhogg