Back to basics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Back to basics

I have been lurking on these boards for some time. Unfortunately I have little knowledge of C++. I am a database programmer and have considerable experience in systems analysis and design.

It seems to me that very little is going to be achieved here without some good old 'top down design, bottom up refinement'.The project needs to be broken down into broad categories, each in turn broken into smaller groupings and so on until the point is reached where further analysis becomes meaningless.

For example (and being ultra simplistic) :

1. Map
    2. Ages
    2.1 Stone Age
    2.2 Iron Age
    3. Buildings
    3.1 Cultural
    3.11 Stone Age
    3.111 Temple
    3.12 Iron Age
    3.2 Economic
    3.3 Military
    3.4 Building AI
    4. Units

Once the basic structure is in place each level of the design can be 'refined'. Then and only then does it make sense to start any coding.

There are alternative design paradigms. My favourite is 'prototyping'. This is where the basic structure is created without trying to dot all the i's and cross all the t's. Functionality is added bit by bit. The advantage of this paradigm is that the user gets a working program very early in the development process and meaningful user feedback is possible right from the start. (I digress)

Now comes the really, really hard part.

The game already exists. This means that the design already exists. It would be foolish (impossible?) to make changes which do not fall into the overall design of the game.

So to the point of this post. It seems to me that the very first thing that needs to be done is to unravel Activision's design of CTP2. Produce a design document. Make public the design document. Discuss the design. Get it as accurate as possible. Not the design that you want but the design as it actually is. Then it is possible to start the 'refinement'process.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGG