DESIGN: New CTP2 Game Manual

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DESIGN: New CTP2 Game Manual

Ok i've been looking over the current one and obviously its fairly redundant because of the changes that have been made to the game so far.

This project is one of the later parts i guess that will be done, but i got a few ideas for a bit of feed back and discussion.

I guess the first thing i should add is dont worry - any work i will do toward the final draft will be spell checked

One of the main problems that CTP2(and 1?) had was complaints from people who had played Civ(1/2) and the common cry was 'but why does it do this? in Civ i could do that!' etc.. many people were shocked to find that this wasn't actually just a prettier version of Civ2.

So what i'm thinking is maybe we could have a step-by-step tutorial section that aims to lead a complete novice by the hand through the game's various sections. As there is no real in game tutorial(not detailed anyway) we could atleast help with any Civ(1/2/3) players confusion.

I've been revisiting 'Star Wars Supremacy'(UK titlte) recently, its that old strategy starwars game that got a bad press due to its fairly inept AI(sound familular).
    Well it had one good point - a decent in manual tutorial that made this otherwise very confusing game, a bit easier to understand.

So this is my first main thought to adding something new, that hopefully will help new players get to grips quicker with the game - and maybe explain somewhere that although CTP2 looks like Civ - its actually quite a different beast?
    Last edited by child of Thor; November 17, 2003, 09:46.
    'The very basis of the liberal idea – the belief of individual freedom is what causes the chaos' - William Kristol, son of the founder of neo-conservitivism, talking about neo-con ideology and its agenda for you.info here. prove me wrong.

Bush's Republican=Neo-con for all intent and purpose. be afraid.