Mod advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mod advice

Ive been playing CTP2 for 3 years, mostly MP games but ive been attracted to try the Mods as a new venture this year (dont know why I havnt before - maybe the fear of change or worried I may mess up my PC / copy of CTP2 - yes im a technophobe).

I have a couple of questions.

1) Which Mod/Mods would you advise me to use as a starting point? - Cradle sounds interesting but im not sure if its to big a jump with all the new units, advances etc to contend with, or maybe Apolyton Pack or then there is Medieval Mod. Im not sure which one and would appreciate some advice.

2) Are the Mods single entities, i.e. you only use one or can they be combined? - I presume they are just dowloaded to your CTP2 folder and replace other files and thus should be used singularly.

3) As I play CTP2 Multiplayer games very often, for which I would need to revert to the original game, how would this be managed? Can the Mods be turned on/off easily and how is this done or would I have to create a seperate version of CTP2 in a different folder or something?

Many thanks...

Id have a totally seperate installations of CtP2 for mods and one for MP. I had some strange problems with trying to play unmodded when id installed mods and modswapper, and when something does go wrong you can be confident its not the mods messing it up.

Id start with Apolyton Pack, it has all the same techs, units, wonders, buildings etc but the AI is tougher (read tougher only, not smarter).
    Call to Power 2: Apolyton Edition - download the latest version (12th June 2011)
    CtP2 AE Wiki & Modding Reference
    One way to compile the CtP2 Source Code.

Comment

Thanks mate, ill install it at the weekend when I have time to sort things out and mess around.

Guess ill be back with probs and questions re the installation.

Comment