Celebrations, Gov't Types

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Celebrations, Gov't Types

I just started playing CTP a few days ago, and I have yet to figure out how to trigger celebrations. I know in Civ I & II, you just had to have more happy people than content people and stuff, but I don't understand how to get celebrations in CTP.

Also, I would like to know what the Military rating is for government types. What does it mean when a gov't has a "Bad" or "Good" rating? I Notice that the Senate doesn't step in and force peace treaties (or at least it hasn't happened to me yet, and I've provoked plenty of wars). Does it have to do with Martial Law and stuff?

Also, I built The Agency, which says gives you a spy capability at every city, but I still don't see hidden units that spies should be able to see. I think I'm ahead technologically (there is one country on the south side of the map that I haven't officially contacted), so I don't think The Agency has been obsoleted yet. At least, I don't recall any messages telling me it had been.

Other than those issues, I have to say that CTP is even better than Civ II. It took all the things that were good about Civ II and fixed all the things that were frustrating and tedious about it. After I'm played out (or the price comes down to dirt cheap), I guess I'll have to check out CTP II.

Finally, how are Civ and CTP related? I know Sid left to do AC and other things, but did the rest of the original Civ team creat CTP, or is it a totally independent venture? Reading the manual, I got the impression that CTP is some kind of sequel to Civ, but I couldn't tell for sure. Any comments would be appreciated.