lisening posts, radar and other detection methods

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• lisening posts, radar and other detection methods

I am relatively new to ctp, but I am in the modern age and I want to know about listening posts, radar and any other detection methods to put on my map to keep the enemy out. Any advice please.
    james

Listening posts push back the fog of war 10 tiles. Radar stations help detect aircraft from a distance (check the library for exact details). And the sonar helps to pick up submarines and gives limited sight (two tiles I think). Though all of these help maintain surveillance on and around your territory, none of them actually help to keep out enemy units.

I like using them because I don't like surprises and I don't want to find enemy units taking over my cities before I know what's happening.

I word of caution, just like other tile improvements, listening posts, etc., are taken over when cities are captured. So keep this in mind when placing these improvements.
    No, I can't beat the game on deity level with 16 civs and raging barbarians and, and...

Comment

Radar stations have the functionality of showing all enemy units, within 25 tiles, on the small radar map. This includes stealthy units -- or, at least, Undersea Crawlers, anyway.

Sonar Buoys have a vision range (pushing back the Fog of War) of 1 space. It's small, but hey, they're cheap!
      SoulFisher
      _________|
      I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. -- Galations 2:20 (paraphrase)

Comment

MHO: The radar is useless on huge maps. Then it's too difficult to spot enemy units on the small radar map.
        First they ignore you. Then they laugh at you. Then they fight you. Then you win.

Gandhi

Comment