military readiness

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• military readiness

What's your strategy with "military readiness" function? I always have at least one "hot" place, where fights are going on, while many units are just sitting in cities all around my country guarding them. I could save money reducing military readinnes of those inactive units, but I can't, because say 1/2 of my army is in combat with a neighbour.

At the beginning I was thinking of using special forces for active combats and non-spacial units for gaurding, but there are only few spacial forces.

...I could save money reducing military readinnes of those inactive units...
    Actually, what you save by reducing military readiness is production.

As a rule of thumb, it is a good idea to set your military at war. You never know what can happen, so you'd better be prepared for anything.
    "I'm an engineer. I make slides that people can't read. Sometimes I eat donuts." - Alice

Comment

I would agree with you, omnibus, about using Special Forces units for attack, and regular units for defence. Keeping your Military Readiness at "At Peace" is 10 times cheaper in production than "At War". However, jpww has a point. With your defenders powered down, you tend to lose more cities from sneak attacks. I have yet to play an Awesome Aips game, but the standard game aips shouldn't be too hard to recover against.
      SoulFisher
      _________|
      I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. -- Galations 2:20 (paraphrase)

Comment

Some guys use mods that make switching the readinesses require less turns. If low barbarian level, I prefer to put Alert or Peace in the very beggining of the game, as I will be finding and making units anyway. This will give you several turns of extra Settlers.
        Solver, WePlayCiv Co-Administrator