Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• trying to edit - help !!

Hi all !

I am trying to cut out all the futuristic advances from CTP to have a good 20th century style game (a la Civ 2)
    How can I cut advances out of the game ?
    I have tried easymod and hacking the text files, but I am not that good at it !
    Can someone give me an idiots guide to removing advances ?

Thanks - Andy MC
    thunderchild@genesia.freeserve.co.uk

Hey Thunderchild,
    Doing what you want to do isn't that difficult, you only have to edit 3 files (four if you realy want). I thought I'd reply because I had to do this for my own mod recently and it's fresh in my mind, at the minute. First thing is use Easymod to make you a Scenario so that you're not editing the main file for CTP. It should create a folder, inside scenarios/whatever_you_called_the_mod called scen0000 the files I'm talking about can be accessed from that file.
    The four files to change are:
    default/gamedata/advance.txt
    default/gamedata/advanceicon.txt
    english/gamedata/gl_str.txt
    english/gamedata/help_str.txt(this one doesn't need changing but it does clean up some loose ends)
    At the top of advance.txt is a number, this as you probably guessed is the number of advances in the file, you should keep this number correct but I don't think it matters. To remove the advance simply select the text, from ADVANCE_NAME to ADVANCE DONE

Eg, if you were removing AGRICULTURE you'd get rid of the text out of Advance.txt

from here~ADVANCE_AGRICULTURE
    {
    ADVANCE_DEFAULT_ICON ICON_ADVANCE_AGRICULTURE
    ADVANCE_DEFAULT_BRANCH BRANCH_AGGRESSIVE_WAR

ADVANCE_AGE_INDEX 0
    POWER_POINTS 1
    ADVANCE_COST 20
    }

### ADVANCE DONE ### ~ to here

ADVANCE_TOOLMAKING
    {
    ADVANCE_DEFAULT_ICON ICON_ADVANCE_TOOLMAKING
    ADVANCE_DEFAULT_BRANCH BRANCH_SEA

ADVANCE_AGE_INDEX 0
    POWER_POINTS 2
    ADVANCE_COST 20
    ALLOWS_ROADS,

Etc, etc