Is FreeCiv more than an ICS slugfest?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is FreeCiv more than an ICS slugfest?

I'm trying to decide whether it's worth the effort to either run FreeCiv under Windows or try to get an X-Windows client to connect to my Unix account at work (something I've never done before).

However, the strategy and tips guides for FreeCiv leave me wondering.... they all seem to say "build as many settlers as you can, go for these techs, kill your enemies." Does anyone play FreeCiv in builder mode rather than warmonger mode?

Follow this thread in the FreeCivDev Archive
    http://arch.freeciv.org/freeciv-dev-.../msg00199.html
    Skeptics should forego any thought of convincing the unconvinced that we hold the torch of truth illuminating the darkness. A more modest, realistic, and achievable goal is to encourage the idea that one may be mistaken. Doubt is humbling and constructive; it leads to rational thought in weighing alternatives and fully reexamining options, and it opens unlimited vistas.

Elie A. Shneour Skeptical Inquirer

Comment

Hi Chris,

Your suspicion is not unfounded. ICS is indeed the "official" strategy of Freeciv. You will find detailed reasons for that in the thread given above by CapTVK. I consider it a rather sorry state of affairs, and am trying to "fix" it. I think I have found a simply way of doing that, but apparently not many people agree with me.

Anyway, it's good to see more people who want to play in builder mode rather than warmonger mode. And I hope we will be able to do that in Freeciv soon.

[This message has been edited by Jing (edited January 17, 2001).]

Comment

Jing,