Web based game?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Web based game?

OK, I'm an artist, not a programmer, but I've been making games for 5 years so I'm not a complete idiot. I just recognize that I have alot to learn, always.

So: When we talk about a Java besed game, does this mean it's web based?

would it be possible to make Clash a webgame? I can see many advantages to this. Easy multiplayer, small download, simple upgrading, etc.

bear with my ignorance, since I stopped programming when RT1 died.

Hey Mog:

Short answer - Java-based can be either web based or not. Yes, it would be possible to make Clash a web game.

There's been quite a bit of discussion about this on the old BB. On the old AI/Coding BB at http://www.sitepowerup.com/mb/view.asp?BoardID=103693 look for the "Applet or Application" thread. There's some other background info there on similar issues too.
    Project Lead for The Clash of Civilizations
    A Unique civ-like game that will feature low micromanagement, great AI, and a Detailed Government model including internal power struggles. Demo 8 available Now! (go to D8 thread at top of forum).
    Check it out at the Clash Web Site and Forum right here at Apolyton!

Comment

The fact that all our development so far has been 'applets' means that it is currently web-based, so I hope it stays so!

I agree -- I don't see any benefit to not making this game in applet form. Single-players can just download the .class files and .html file, if they want to play it locally.

Comment

Hey, Everything You've Done so far has been Applets ;-)
        Project Lead for The Clash of Civilizations
        A Unique civ-like game that will feature low micromanagement, great AI, and a Detailed Government model including internal power struggles. Demo 8 available Now! (go to D8 thread at top of forum).
        Check it out at the Clash Web Site and Forum right here at Apolyton!

Comment

Ooops -- yeah, that's what I meant!

Comment