Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PBEM, story-oriented

Hello!
    This PBEM focuses on developing an interesting story rather then achieving victory. I seek players that don't focus on game mechanics and actual in-game outcome but also consider ethical implications of their actions. One, simple rule: if this would be a REAL LIFE what would I do?

Game version: SMAC 5.0 (with WinXP patch)
    Settings: random planet with standard rules.

I will lead a Gaian faction.

Anyone interested?

On one of the internet game sessions a few weeks/months ago we we talked about role playing like this. I'm interested as it adds value to one of the strong points of this game: different factions with different ideologies. But would it involve writing stories too? Because I'm not good at that. I have to think about which faction to play, as they are all interesting when role playing is considered. But I am reserving Morganites for now

Comment

Also maybe it would be better if we ask Mart7x5 to make a special map for this game, as randomizing (=unbalanced) would possibly reduce role playing possibility

Comment

Writing a story is an interesting idea but English isn't my native language so the answer to your question is simply no. But I can imagine that one of our players would be interested in writing one, based on our game. It would be so nice!

Can you explain how random map affects RP factor?

Comment

Sounds like fun, and I may be able to churn out a "Captain's Log" (or CEO's memoirs, or Colonel's records, or what have you) for each turn I play (though some may be "not much happened this year..."). I remember getting this sort of game going years ago, though people dropping out ultimately killed it.

Anyway, I'm willing to play any faction, though my favorites are always Morgan Industries and the Spartan Federation. The ones I feel the least connection with the University of Planet and the Human Hive... though I'm sure I can come up with something if I must.