Newbie Help and Strategies wanted!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Help and Strategies wanted!

Ni hao, peoples. Let me start out by saying that I'm a Civ2 vet and used to play it religiously for awhile. I recently got a hold of Alpha Centauri (just the original, not Alien Crossfire) and it seems just as good, and more interesting than Civ2. The problem is that I have no freaking clue to what's going on. I mean all these new terms and different units that you can customize seem overwhelming. The factions also have much more of a difference than the civs did. I'm not sure if I should only play to a faction's strength (like Morgan and making energy) or trying to make up their weakness (like Morgan's not so good support and military).

Basically, I was wondering if anyone has strategies to help me on my way. Like which faction to ease into, etc. I don't want to have to only play on the easiest difficulty, because that would get boring quickly, like Civ2 did until I manned up and tried harder levels.

Anyway, any help would be appreciated.
    "Who's John Galt?"

Hi StealthKab,

typically the University is the best Faction to start out with. The best way to immerse yourself into the game is to start a game (as the Uni's), and once you land on Planet press the F1 key to bring up the Datalinks. Once in the Datalinks review the Faction profiles (usually one of the Factions strengths and weaknesses will catch your fancy, and you'll tend to gravitate towards them in time): note which Factions are polar opposites, and be aware of this when entering diplomatic negotiations with that Faction(example: the Uni's opposite is the Believers, and they will easily go to war with the Unis), and then the general terms.