No announcement yet.

Energy doesn't increase with altitude.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Energy doesn't increase with altitude.

Hi, all. I'm new to Alpha Centauri and I'm having a problem with it. I'm hoping someone can help.

I just installed Alpha Centauri on a machine running Windows XP. After playing it awhile I noticed that I'm not getting the energy that I should from solar collectors at elevations above 2000 meters. According to the instructions I should get one more energy unit for each 1000 meters of additional altitude. This is what I'm actually getting in the game:

At less than 1000 meters I get 1 energy unit with a solar collector.
    At 1000 meters up to 3500 meters I get 2 energy units with a solar collector.

Rivers and energy bonuses add to the amount of energy available from the square, but altitude has no effect beyond 2000 meters. I've checked this not only with the information in the status window but by actually building solar collectors on the elevated sites and seeing the results.

Ideas, anyone?

Thanks.

Did you research Environment Economics yet? Until you get that technology, maximum energy production is 2 for all squares other than those with an energy bonus.

Comment

Ah, that must be the problem. The instructions weren't very clear on that. Thanks!

Comment

The SMAC manual is worth careful reading. It's very good even by 1999 standards and from today's point of view it can almost be described as luxurious, but there are still important rules (like this one) that are dealt with in a single sentence, so it's easy to overlook them at first reading.