my first post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• my first post

hi all. This is my first post. I just discovered this game Alpha Centauri. For years I've been playing nothing but first person shooters. Nowadays I can appreciate other genres and I can see what I've been missing out on.

So I've gone back to play all the games I missed out on and Alpha Centauri is one of them. And to think that I could have been playing it all these years!

I'm still reading the manual and learing how the game works. I do hope you will forgive me for the noob questions but I am still fairly new to strategy games.

First why doesn't AC have the usual graphics options such as resolution, texture detail etc...? Is it like a fixed display that can't be changed?

Second I'm a little confused about the formers. The manual lists all the possible uses of formers and the keyboard commands to do so. However there is an option to set them to full automation. I'm confused. I guess my question is why wouldn't I simply use the full automation option? Why would I take the time and effort to give a command to every former every turn if I can simply automate?

P.S.
    Oh how I wish there will be an Alpha Centauri 2. I would pay a lot for such a game if it was made to the same high standard as the first one but with updated graphics and technology. I bet I'm not the first person to wish for that! What's the story on it?

Welcome Laser Eyes,

it's always great to see new players discovering this gem of a game. It both rejuvenates discussions and makes people here remember their own first steps at Alpha Centauri.

1) Graphic Options: Apart from the display settings that can be changed through the "Game" menu, there are some graphics settings that can be changed through the the preferences file (AlphaCentauri.ini) in the main folder. For example you can add a "Video Mode" line for resolution and set it to 800 or 1024. The details are explained in the readme.txt file.