2 q's- one noob like, the other profound

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2 q's- one noob like, the other profound

hi. i'm pretty new to the game but really like it. q 1. i am playing morgan on a smacx map, have treaties with the three factions that i have contacted but absolutely no commerce income? what gives? do i need a tech? q. 2. what's with the unbalanced alien factions in smacx? why would a designer do that? i've enjoyed everyone's posts. v. enlightening and fun. i had civ 4, liked it, played it about three hours and then dusted my copy of ac off and am enjoying it immensely. sir s.

Re: 2 q's- one noob like, the other profound

Originally posted by sir stanley
    i am playing morgan on a smacx map, have treaties with the three factions that i have contacted but absolutely no commerce income? what gives? do i need a tech?
    That's odd. Have you checked the "commerce" section in your major cities' screens? You should benefit from commerce the very turn you make treaties/pacts. You don't need a particular technology either, altough some of them improve your income.

As from the Datalinks:

Commerce is computed base by base between factions with Treaties and Pacts, as follows:

(1) First, all bases for each faction are ranked from top to bottom by Energy output.
    (2) Bases are paired off from top to bottom. If one faction has extra bases, these are ignored.
    (3) For each pair of bases, sum the combined economic output and divide by 8, rounding up.
    (4) Double this value if a Global Trade Pact is in effect.
    (5) Now, for each individual base, the commerce formula is as follows:
    (ValueFromStep4) * (CommerceTech+1) / (TotalCommerceTech+1)
    (6) CommerceTech is the total # of economic technologies discovered, plus
    faction & social bonuses.
    (7) TotalCommerceTech is the total # of economic technologies in the game.
    (8) Now, using the value from step 5, divide by 2 if no Pact (e.g. only a Treaty)