Player accidentally moves his or her ball during search
Current rule: 1-stroke penalty.
New rule: No penalty.
Player accidentally moves his or her ball or ball-marker on the putting green
Current rule: 1-stroke penalty (with exceptions).
New rule: No penalty.
Standard for deciding whether the player caused his or her ball to move
Current rule: Weight of the evidence/more likely than not.
New rule: The player will be found to be the cause only when it is known or virtually certain (meaning at least 95%) to be the case.
there's more, and for the most part I like the changes. Unfortunately we're supposed to wait until 2019 for the changes to take effect
but I dont understand those rule changes, #3 seems to be in conflict with #1 & #2
Comment