Programming advice please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Programming advice please

I would like to try my hand at programming and am not at all sure where to start.

I don't need coding for work, I am looking at trying it as a hobby. Maybe try making a little strategy game if I enjoy it.

Which programming language would you recommend for a complete novice?

i do not wish to spend money on anything expensive as this is just for personal interest.

Thanks

I'd suggest starting with Assembler. It's a low level language so it's perfect for beginners.
    Libraries are state sanctioned, so they're technically engaged in privateering. - Felch
    I thought we're trying to have a serious discussion? It says serious in the thread title!- Al. B. Sure

Comment

There are a couple of things to consider:

1. Memory management: it's easier to learn a language that uses automatic memory management than a language that uses manual memory management, so when starting out you should steer clear of C/C++/Objective-C in favor of Java/C#/Scala/Python/Javascript/Ruby, and I also recommend steering clear of Swift as it's in a bit of an odd place in terms of memory management (it's "mostly" automatic but the programmer still needs to do some bookkeeping)

2. Portability: C# isn't entirely supported outside of Windows (there's an implementation of the .net framework called Mono that you can run on Linux etc, but it usually doesn't support the full framework). Java/Scala/Python/Javascript/Ruby don't have this problem.