The big excuse.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The big excuse.

I've been a manager for over 30 years and have had thousands of employees. They've ranged from call center phone staff, brilliant developers, all the way to upper level managers. Sometime you think you've heard them all but then you hear one that just makes you look up and go HUH.

One of my favorites was a few years ago when a call center rep was late and I asked her why.

"Well I was in a bar with my boyfriend late last night and he got into a fight" (yes all good employees stay out late in bars on a work night)
    "after a few minutes he noticed that his finger had been bitten off" (yes, it took a few minutes)
    "we searched around for his finger" (you never know what you'll find on a barroom floor)
    "when we found it I rushed him to the hospital where they reattached it"
    "I just finished dropping him off at home and rushed straight to work"

Now the dilemma. Do you struggle to keep a straight face and give a sympathetic response or do you break out laughing while trying to say "you've got to be ****ting me"
    I did have to give her points for originality but did the latter.

Share the best excuse you've ever heard. It need not be work related it could be about anything, like why someone can't help you move, or why your girlfriend couldn't make a date. Whatever.
    It's almost as if all his overconfident, absolutist assertions were spoonfed to him by a trusted website or subreddit. Sheeple
    RIP Tony Bogey & Baron O

Did she have a doctor's note?

I mean, if she could prove that it happened, you almost have to let that slide, right? Just for the sheer WTF-ness of it.
    “I give you a new commandment, that you love one another. Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”
    - John 13:34-35 (NRSV)

Comment