What car should I buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What car should I buy?

Some schmuck ran a red light and smashed up my car (2002 Camry), and there's a fair chance that his insurance company is going to total it.

I'm thinking of a $25,000 AWD 4cyl 13,000 mi certified preowned 2012 Subaru Outback, but does anybody have advice for why I should get another make/model? I'm not very good at buying cars.

I'd like an AWD or 4WD (my parents live nearby on a dirt road that's impassable in winter without AWD/4WD), I'll be getting around $6K to $7K if my car gets totaled, and I've got $30K in a bond fund that I've been saving up for my car's eventual replacement.
    <p style="font-size:1024px">HTML is disabled in signatures </p>

One with an engine, four wheels, and a steering wheel. That's a good start.
    A lot of Republicans are not racist, but a lot of racists are Republican.

Comment

Why are you racist against tricycles?

Comment

The Subaru Outback is a great car. I was very tempted.
        The genesis of the "evil Finn" concept- Evil, evil Finland

Comment

I have a 2010 Subaru Forester. Nice car, the engine is the worst part though, so if you care a lot about a really zippy engine, don't do it. But otherwise it's pretty nice.

For $25k you can almost get a new Outback - unless it's got a lot of extras (leather seats and whatnot), that price seems too high to me. That's over the Forester price for what I got (and I think the price is still around the same). The 2014 Forester is really nice, by the way (I went to the Chicago Auto Show this year and got to play around in one) - it might be as good or better than a 2012 Outback. It's got a lot of new stuff internally plus a much better engine (apparently, I did not get to test drive it). 32/24 MPG though which is way better the old 27/21 Forester and even better than the 30/24 Outback. The Forester and the Outback are nearly the same body nowadays, so it wouldn't be that much of a change.