• Show
Clear All

• wtf is sxsw

okay maybe i'm just a noob at whatever the **** that is

WHAT IS SXSW

i'm not going to google

TELL ME
    To us, it is the BEAST.

It's what Catholic priests spray paint on the walls of the bath houses they frequent.
    Try http://wordforge.net/index.php for discussion and debate.

Comment

YOU STOP
      i'mma call the anticatholic defmation league on you
      To us, it is the BEAST.

Comment

South by Southwest Music festival, going on in Austin, Tx.
        Noob.

ACK!
        Don't try to confuse the issue with half-truths and gorilla dust!

Comment

SXSW (South by Southwest) is an annual hipster gathering in Austin, and is basically a showcase event for people who want to be famous.

It started out as just an unsigned bands showcase (in the 80s), utilizing Austin's reputation for having more live music venues per capita than any other city (basically dive bars with a semblance of a stage). All types of music, all times of day, all over town (but especially downtown). I went a couple times (for work!) and had a blast -- great food, cheap hotels, and totally random musical encounters. Don't like the band? Go next door and see another. Plus, Austin in March is a nice kickstart for the end of winter.

But like anything cool and fun, it was quickly co-opted and ruined. Now it includes a film festival, "interactive" conference, etc. So it's gone from "cool place to check out weird bands" to Media Hype On A Stick, complete with $700 tickets, major media coverage, famous hipsters showing up to fluff their latest projects, Bruce Springsteen as keynote speaker, etc.

I'm actually working on a SXSW-related assignment for a client right now, but I'm doing it by phone. No need to be there unless someone else is paying all expenses.

You're welcome.
          Apolyton's Grim Reaper 2008, 2010 & 2011
          RIP lest we forget... SG (2) and LaFayette -- Civ2 Succession Games Brothers-in-Arms

Comment

THX

it's not my jam