So, I'm going back to school.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So, I'm going back to school.

I graduated from high school in 2003. Since then, I've had 2 stints at the local community college that have garnered me a cumulative GPA of 0.5. Yes, you read that correctly - 0.5. But I've decided that I'm ****ing tired of being a community college dropout, so I'm going back (again).

Unfortunately, the Dean of Student Development placed me on academic restriction until December 31, 2099. Yes, you read that correctly - December 31, 2099. So I talked to an advisor who said my GPA was so "impressive" that I would only be able to take 2 classes per semester until my cumulative GPA was 1.75 or greater.

I did a little math and determined that if I retake two of my failed classes during the summer semester and get As in both, I can have a GPA of 1.83 by fall, at which point I'll be able to take a full course load.

Of course, I'm also working fulltime, so how full a course load I'll be able to take is still up in the air. My college does offer online courses, however, so that might lessen the load. And on the plus side, my employer is willing to reimburse me for my classes... so long as I'm not simply donating money to the college as I've done the last two times.

So this summer I'll be retaking Intro to Creative Writing for a second time and Anthropology 101 for a third time. Both of these classes contribute to my General Education requirements so they're not a total waste of time, but I can't wait until I'm off restriction and able to take new classes that will actually be of interest to me.