Close call for old Gramps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Close call for old Gramps

I am recovering now, but had a rough start for this week.

I have been nursing a Hernia for about 15 years and had been scheduled surgery July 20, but ended up with emergency surgery on Monday because my hernia choked out my intestines and went down hard, fortunately, surgeons got to it in time. I was having a scheduled Laprascopic surgery but ended up with a 6 inch incision in my belly which is still pretty painful, I was on Morphine and Vicodin to start with but am trying to handle via Tramadol now because dont want that dopey feeling, plus Vicodin causes constipation and dont need any additional stress on my belly.

Anyone else had an umbilical hernia and if so, how long before you felt normal again?

Thanks

Grandpa Troll
    Hi, I'm RAH and I'm a Benaholic.-rah

umbilical?

so you had a hole in your stomach and intestines pushed thru and "strangled"?

I'd bet it heals up sorta fast (you are an old timer), stomach lining aint much more sensitive than the chest and I was fine without painkillers after they cut me open maybe 3 inches. Just gotta watch stressing or tensing that area. Did you try pushing your innards back in before going under the knife? I know someone who has had a stomach hernia for decades so it is of interest of course.

Comment

I had 2 inguinal hernias, one each side, the most recent repaired November of 08. It was huge and it got to the point where i couldn't even walk and i needed to take 3 months off work to get it fixed. I do not remember if i ever posted about that here before.The pain of recovering from the surgery was so excruciating that i frequently screamed out loud in the middle of the night when i moved wrong.

When that pain was finally removed from my body and 2009 rolled around i felt like a new human being.
      Last edited by ZEE; July 2, 2010, 04:20. Reason: got dates wrong
      Order of the Fly