Tradin' shares

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tradin' shares

So I'm looking to make some mahoney and trade some shares in my spare time.

I'm a total novice, I've no idea where to begin. How do I go about setting about managing a portfolio? How do I manage it? Is there any software up for the task? (Mac + iPhone would be ideal).

Ta!
    "I work in IT so I'd be buggered without a computer" - Words of wisdom from Provost Harrison
    "You can be wrong AND jewish" - Wiglaf :love:

Awhile I ago, I thought about creating a thread with similar questions - never done anything like shares/investments before, but I've been thinking about doing this.

Do you need a lot of money saved before you start? Could you invest with a modest amount to begin with, then add more later?
    A lot of Republicans are not racist, but a lot of racists are Republican.

Comment

Try Interactive Investor: http://www.iii.co.uk/sharedealing/?type=portfolio

They have something call 'Portfolio Builder' that is free till 30 June and only £1.50 per trade thereafter. A good way to start!

They also have the usual stuff if you then decide to go 'real time' in the future.
      Is it me, or is MOBIUS a horrible person?

Comment

[QUOTE=MrFun;5733119]Awhile I ago, I thought about creating a thread with similar questions - never done anything like shares/investments before, but I've been thinking about doing this.

Do you need a lot of money saved before you start?
        No. There is probably a US equiv. of the link I've just posted.

Could you invest with a modest amount to begin with, then add more later?
        Yes, specifically if you start a monthly index tracker. Things will be different in the US, plus I have to head out right now anyway...
        Is it me, or is MOBIUS a horrible person?

Comment

I made $15k last year on FTSE shares. I consider it time to sell and profit take.
          One day Canada will rule the world, and then we'll all be sorry.

Comment